jump to navigation

There’s no place like home March 7, 2006

Posted by Muhajirah in General, Qur'an, Random Musings.
trackback

Asalaamu Alaikum

Insha’Allah you are all well.

I think back two years, when I made my trip back home, Al Bakistan, well Kashmir to be precise. I remember the beauty of the place, the amazing mountains, the blue skies and starry nights, the scorching heat in the morning and tranquil cool in the evening. I remember the beautiful adhaan blasting out through the streets and lastly how can I forget the ants, the billions of tiny (and massive) ants that were everywhere. It was a love hate relationship between me and them. There was times when I would sit for ages watching the way the tiny things would work, carrying things twice their size while at other times I admit they annoyed me so much I would squash them. May Allah (swt) forgive, I feel immense guilt now when I look back. The ants are very special creatures; I mean there is a Surah named after them!

Image hosting by Photobucket

Did you know, an ant can carry 20 times its own wieght. Subhan’Allah

At length, when they came to a (lowly) valley of ants, one of the ants said: “O ye ants, get into your habitations, lest Solomon and his hosts crush you (under foot) without knowing it.”

So he smiled, amused at her speech; and he said: “O my Lord! so order me that I may be grateful for Thy favours, which thou hast bestowed on me and on my parents, and that I may work the righteousness that will please Thee: And admit me, by Thy Grace, to the ranks of Thy righteous Servants.” [27:18-19]

Recently I have really wanting to go back. I don’t know why, I mean I hated it there, and I know if I go again I wont like it but there is just this feeling. I miss it – allot! I just want to spend a couple of days there, maybe a week or two. I want to sit outside in the veranda at asr time waiting for the electricity to come back on. I want to pray my maghrib on the roof tops, surrounded by corn fields and mountains. I want sit in the darkness, just looking up at the beautiful starry sky. I just want to be away from here!

Kashmir I love that place man… almost as much as I hate it (or should I say the people) :D

Wasalaam

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

