jump to navigation

Paradise May 23, 2006

Posted by Muhajirah in Heart Softners, Islam, Writings.
trackback

Asalaamu Alaikum
Insha’Allah you are all well,

I was thinking about Jannah today. How beautiful it will be…

I thought about being surround by Muslims, being greeting with salaam.

I thought about the beautiful gardens, trees with golden trunks, bearing fruits no man has ever tasted.

I thought of the rivers of milk, honey and wine and the fountain of Al Kawther.

I thought about doing anything I please. Sitting in lush green meadows. Relaxing upon soft silk cushions, eating, drinking, playing, laughing, joking, flying through the gardens of paradise, riding a unicorn…

I thought about the companions, seeing Umar (ra), who was harsh against the enemies of Islaam, yet so loving to the Muslims. Abu Bakr, who gave away all his wealth when the Muslims were in need. And when asked, what have you left for your family? He replied, ‘Allah and His Messenger’

I thought about sitting with Aisha (ra), chatting to her. I would ask her to tell me what it was like to race the Prophet.

I thought about Khadijah, the first woman to embrace Islaam. I imagine myself watching her from a distance, admiring her with such respect.

I thought about the previous prophets, Adam (as), the father of mankind. Sulaiman, Musa, Isa… all of the prophets and messengers mentioned in the Qur’aan and all the ones that are not.

I thought about Muhammad (saw), the mercy to mankind. The best of creation! On a day when others will shout nafsi, nafsi, nafsi! He will shout, ummati, ummati ummati! I imagine myself following him around everywhere 24/7 – wait there will be no time! I imagine me asking him a million and one questions! What was it like in the cave, when you got your first revelation? What was it like in Ta’if when the children stoned you? What did it feel like when you conquered Makkah and destroyed the Idols? What was it like to participate in Jihaad, one to one with the enemy? So many questions!!

I imagine the green birds, flying around the Throne, the martyrs! How they will be asked what they would like and they will reply that they wish to return to earth to fight once again and die once again – all for the sake of the Allah, Lord of the Worlds.

And then I thought of the Throne itself and Allah the Magnificent, the Great. I thought about seeing my Creator, My Rabb. The one whose mercy is endless. I imagine falling down, prostrating with humility. I imagine shedding tears, but in Jannah there are no tears (at least I don’t think so), so I smile and my smile turns into laughter.

And then my thoughts are shattered with a sudden realisation… I desire paradise, but what have I done to deserve it?

Ya Rabb, only by your mercy can we enter Paradise. You are the Master of the Day of Judgement, so show mercy to us sinful souls on that day. Cover up our sins; take easy account on us and save us from the torments of the fire. Only You, Ya Rabb can admit us into gardens beneath which rivers flow, with You lies all success and without your guidance we are truly lost. So guide us to the truth and help us to stay on the straight path, the path leading to Jannah. Ameen!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

