jump to navigation

Why? June 5, 2006

Posted by Muhajirah in Heart Softners, Islam, Random Musings.
trackback

Asalaamu Alaikum
Insha’Allah you are well,

Allah, Lord of the Worlds, not a leaf falls without Your knowledge. You know all that was, is and will be. Compared to You my knowledge is nothing; a grain of sand in a desert, a drop of water in a never ending ocean. Then why do I think I know… I know nothing.

And it is You, ya Rabb who guided me. Who took me out of the darkness, who led me from the path of destruction to the path of guidance. Without Your light I would be lost, stuck in my jahil ways. Without Your mercy I have no hope of attaining Jannah and hell without a doubt will be my final abode. Then why am I proud… I have nothing to be proud of!

And it is You, ya Rabb, who allows me to increase in ajr as you give reward to those who do good and it is you who forgives sins and gives hope to lost souls. And it is You who sends down blessing and allows me to live a life of ease, who does not burden me with trials, more than I can bear. Then why do I think myself superior… when everything that I have is from You

And it is You, ya Rabb who is the most powerful. Who is able to do all things. On the appointed day you will cause the earth to be levelled, great mountains to be turned into dust and mankind will be resurrected for judgement. Then why do I think I have strength… I have no strength at all.

And it is You, ya Rabb who created all that is in the heavens and the earth and it did not cause You any tiredness in the slightest. You give life and cause death. It is you who turns the day into night and the night into day. Then why do I think I have achieved… I have achieved nothing.

And the only way I can obtain knowledge is by reading the Qur’aan and superiority is only measured in terms of Taqwa. And pride? Pride is only for the dwellers of hell. And only by lowering myself, bowing my head on the dust can I gain strength…. Strength of Imaan. And only when I enter Jannah will I have achieved.

So my Lord, help me to remember You always. To be humble, to realise I am a nobody. Rid my heart of pride, hypocrisy and arrogance. Make me a better person. Increase my Imaan. Only by your mercy will I enter Jannah so have mercy on my soul. Take easy account on me and grant me gardens beneath which rivers flow.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

