jump to navigation

The Tale of the Daddy Long Leg September 6, 2006

Posted by Muhajirah in General.
trackback

When I was a kid, my brother used to show me a ‘magic trick’. This is how it went.

Firstly he would catch a daddy long leg. Then he would tell us about his mystical powers of be able to keep a leg moving after having cut it off the poor thing. He would then go on to actually cutting off one of its legs (may Allah have mercy on him for doing so) and show it to us. And yup, you guessed, the leg would still be moving.

Me and my sister would sit there amazed, thinking my brother was so cool (and slightly psychotic – trust me tearing of insects legs was nothing compared to the other stuff he used to do!). Well that was back in the day, when I was a child, still yet to enter the realms of school and education (pfft).

Now though, I know that it has got nothing to do with magic, but simple biology. Let me explain… wait, I can’t! Well I can but it would make no sense. If only I listened in biology lessons, rather than staring at the clock hoping time would go faster.

Why am I writing about this? Well I have a daddy long leg hopping about on my ceiling. It’s massive! Before it was hanging off on two legs, and I thought it might drop on someone’s head – even though no one was standing underneath it. Actually no one else is in the room. Wait a sec, all has gone quiet, where’s it gone? It’s hanging off on two legs again, but it’s considerably closer to me. I think it might be getting ready to pounce on me, in revenge for my delight in seeing its great great granddad daddy long leg (?) having its legs ripped off.

 

250px-cranefly.jpg

After extensive research (a quick search on google) I have come to realise that the thing hanging off my bedroom ceiling is in fact a crane fly (Tipula oleraceae if you want to be clever). But us common folk just call em daddy long legs, along with every other insect that has long thin legs.

Its still there, and i’m off to sleep

Wasalaam

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

