jump to navigation

Progress Report – Arabic February 18, 2007

Posted by Muhajirah in Arabic, General, Random Musings.
trackback

As Salaamu ‘Alaikum

Insha’Allah you are in the best of health and Imaan

 

It has been almost a year since I stopped taking Arabic classes. Since then I have been determined to keep up my Arabic, but unfortunately my determination doesn’t mean I have always had the discipline to actually sit down and learn on my own.

The year started well. Me and a couple of sisters planned to meet up once a week and carry on working through the book that we had studied in the previous year (al Kitab fi Ta’alamu al ‘Arabiyah). But then uni work started piling up and so that didn’t happen for long.

After that, I totally left Arabic for a long period of time (a good couple of months). I made no attempt at all to keep up with it. Did I give up? I don’t know, I think it was a lack of motivation + laziness + being occupied with other things.

Since then, even tho I have more work than ever, I have re-started my attempt to teach myself Arabic. I bought myself Qisas an Nabiyeen, which at first sat on my bookshelf for ages, but then recently I got myself a Hans Wehr (woOt – it is the most amazing book ever lol) So right now that’s what I am going through. Alhamdulillah I know the basics in Arabic so it’s not too hard. It’s just my vocab is very lacking which is where my problem lies! Oh and it takes me absolutely ages to find words in the dictionary. But again alhamdullilah I don’t care that its takes me so long, because I find it enjoyable!

As well as that, me and some sisters, have again planned to do some Arabic. I hope that this time we stick to it!

I have also started going through the Medina Arabic website, which is very useful. So far most of the stuff I am doing on there, I know, but the important thing is that I am learning new vocabulary. I am considering buying the Medina books, but im going to see how I get on first. There’s no point going mad and buying tons of books, for me then to just leave them to gather dust. Insha’Allah I shall by the will and mercy of Allah get better. I just have to stick to it

Make dua for me. Jazaakum Allah khaire

Comments»

1. UmmShurahbeel - February 18, 2007

assalamu alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh

inshaAllaah you’ll be fine just make a firm resolution and put your head down..

next think you know youll be fluent in arabic ;)

InshaAllaah tc ws

2. Saifudeena - February 21, 2007

assalamu alaykum

that’s so strange, I’m doing al-kitab fee ta’allum al-arabiyya….and i find it kind of difficult…..theres just too much work in so little time….and time consuming

how do you find it, or where do you find the time

3. Muhajirah - February 21, 2007

wa alaikumusalaam

umm shurabeel, insha’Allah, make dua that i suceed in learning arabic =)

saifudeena,

na’am i found it very difficult. It takes a LOT of time. I studied that book in my first yr of uni, so basically my day was spent going thru it + a lot of time in the library sat down trying to grasp everything, alhamdulillah i didnt have other commitments so i could dedicate a lot of time to arabic

Are u going thru it on ur own or with a teacher?

If ur studying on ur own, then thats probably where ur problem is, because someone does need to teach it to u.

But dont worry too much, spend as much time as you can going thru everything. Make use of the CDs!! You will find that over time you will grasp all the grammer, vocab etc. It comes to you… slowly but surely =)

4. Rasheed Gonzales - February 23, 2007

as-Salâm ‘alaikum wa rahmatullah,

The Madinah Uni course books are an excellent set of books for beginners; they’re set up in a way which you shouldn’t really need a teacher to go through them. If you’ve already got a grasp of the basics though, they’re not really going to help you all that much.

The best thing you can do to build up your vocab is to translate stuff for yourself; not just read–translate. It will help you commit words to memory a lot faster since you’re not only looking them up, you’re also writing them down; figuring out how to convey the Arabic you’re reading into proper, readable English helps a lot as well.

Hans Wehr has got to be one of the best (if not the best) learning tools you can use to further your Arabic. It’s got a lot of nuances that can really help you if you know how to use the dictionary properly (they’re pointed out in the introduction, if you bother to read it–I haven’t as of yet heh). One drawback regarding it, however, is it’s total number of words is a bit on the low side. It’d be good to suppliment it with another dictionary with a larger amount of words in it; like al-Mawrid’s Arabic-English dictionary (the maroon one).

I’ve also got a very helpful verb chart that can help with morphology (sarf) for anyone who’s interested; just contact me via email or something (my address can be found on my blog). Learning the forms can help a great deal in telling you what a word means without having to look it up in a dictionary.

In any case, it takes a lot of work, a lot of patience, and a lot of thumbing through your new best friend (Hans Wehr), and I ask Allah to make things easy for you.

5. Rasheed Gonzales - February 23, 2007

Ooops. I forgot to mention …

One good learning tool that can help, even if you already know the basics is a book titled Arabic Verbs And Essentials of Grammar by Jane Wightwick and Mahmoud Gaafar (http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/item/books-978084424605/0844246050/).

6. Muhajirah - February 24, 2007

wa alaikumusalaam wa rahmatullah

Jazaak Allah khaire for ur comments akhi, some very useful advice.

7. Hafsa - March 2, 2007

Assalamu alaykum. I totally understand, as I’m in a similar journey :) I’m a non arabic speaker. I started studying arabic last year @ http://shariahprogram.ca, and it’s amazing at how fast we are picking up vocab, grammar, sarf, and alll.

I’m in my 2nd year (last year), and we are now reading a fiqh book, a hadith book, qasas, and hidayatun nahw.

After a year of intense study, we can now, Alhamdulillah, easily read without vowels (mostly when we know the word :$)

8. Muhajirah - March 2, 2007

wa alaikumusalaam

masha’Allah, may Allah make it easy for u and grant u the ability to become fluent in arabic.


Leave a Reply

