jump to navigation

Nostalgia… June 18, 2007

Posted by Muhajirah in General, Random Musings, Reflections.
trackback

When I was a kid, during the summer I spent my whole day outside, playing with friends. I would wake up in the morning and rush straight outside, only coming back in when my mum called me in to eat, then I’d be back outside again until late.

I remember our games of hide and seek, football and rounders. We had massive (and I mean massive) water fights, played (our own version of) gladiators, knock a door run, and other dumb games. We’d tell each other ghost stories, made treasure trails and catch insects, bees and wasps in a jar just for fun. We’d stick a drinking bottle or an empty can of coke at the back of our bikes (where the back tyre is), so it’d make a loud noise (like a motorbike) when we rode it, then we’d stay out till late riding our bikes, not thinking that we might be disturbing people’s sleep. I actually remember my first bike, I can’t remember where I got it from, but it was this tiny mashed up little thing with only one stabaliser on. While the rest of my friends played hide and seek or something I would ride around my street on my own, again and again and again…

We dug holes in our gardens looking for treasure. We’d crush berries and leaves mixed in mud to make a ‘stew’ and then serve it on leaves. We’d snap branches off trees and make bow and arrows out of them. We’d burn our names onto a leaf using a magnifying glass. We’d jump up and down in my garden and then watch the ants come out from the crack in the paving. We crawled in bushes, sometimes for fun and sometimes cos we’d hit our tennis ball in them and would end up spending half a day looking for it. We did some stupid stuff like light small fires (and I mean very small just in case ur thinking we were arsonist lol), we would go and collect all the rubbish in our street to burn – at least it cleared our street of any rubbish! Sometimes, we’d just sit and do nothing, just talk or watch others play.

It was a good, I had fun. These days it’s just plain boring. I’d love to just go out and have a game of footy or crawl in them bushes once again. But alas I’m too old for that now. Sometimes I wish I was a kid again, but then again kids these days are boring gits, who sit in front of the telly all day so maybe not.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

