jump to navigation

Fiqh books June 14, 2008

Posted by Muhajirah in General.
trackback

I’m looking for a good book on fiqh, something not too simple, (don’t wanna get bored!), but at the same time it can’t be too detailed (don’t wanna get confused!). Insha’Allah i plan on doing some proper studying (not just a quick read) so I want to buy the best book out there (within a reasonable price range of course)

So far I’ve come across:

1. Fiqh us-Sunnah by Sayyid Sabbiq.

I downloaded pdf version (from here) but not sure if it’s a full version. From what I’ve read so far it looks good. The full set is available in the library so I’m going to check it out before I make my mind on whether it’s the one to get. Each volume costs around £12-£15, but I saw it on Maktabah for £30 (I think it’s the full set!) which seems pretty good, considering its 5 volumes. They’re out of stock though. I’ve seen it at other places for around £60 which is way too expensive! Another (silly) reason i’m inclined to buy it is cos it looks nice =)

2. A Summary of Islamic Jurisprudence by Sh. Salih al-Fawzan

Also managed to get hold of a pdf version of this (vol 1 and vol 2). I’ve had a quick read through a few chapters from volume one and I like it. It’s something that if I had a hard copy I could sit down and read properly. Costs around £30 for the set.

3. Fiqh Made Easy by Dr Salih al Sadlan.

Which I don’t know much about except it was recommended by a friend.

So because I am very indecisive, if anybody could give me their recommendations from the three, or any other book, it would be much appreciated.

Comments»

1. Rasheed Gonzales - June 14, 2008

as-Salam ‘alaikum wa rahmatullah,

I’m assuming you’re referring to English translations. If so, then you might want to take a look at the English translation of al-Wajîz fî Fiqh as-Sunnah wal-Kitâb al-‘Azîz by Shaikh ‘Abdul-‘Adhîm bin Badawî. It’s translated by Jamal Zarabozo and published by IIPH under the title The Concise Presentation of the Fiqh. I had the Arabic of this book and it was very nice. Not as comprehensive and detailed as Fiqh as-Sunnah, but still very nice.

Another book available in English is Fiqh According to the Qur’an & Sunnah by Muhammad Subhi Hallaq, translated by Sameh Strauch and printed by Darussalam. They’ve only got volume 1 on the website, but I’m sure I’ve seen volume 2 printed already, and Allah is more knowledgeable.

2. Umm Hibaat - June 15, 2008

Assalaamu Alaykum sis!

I highly recommend FiqhusSunnah!!! :)

3. Muhajirah - June 15, 2008

wa alaykum as salam

Bro Rasheed: Yes im looking for books in english. Jazak’Allah khayr for the links, will check them out insha’Allah

Umm Hibaat: Jazak’Allah khayr =)

4. Saleem - June 22, 2008

Assalaam Ukthee,

Insha’allaah go through Fiqh with a learned Ustaadh/ Ustaadha.

Try asking the question to a teacher upon the Ahlul Sunnah here: http://www.tayyibun.com/forum as they’ll be sure to know what would be best, Tayyibun Institute teach Fiqh from varied Madhaibs.

Wa Assalaam

5. Muhajirah - June 23, 2008

wa alaykum as salaam

Tayyibun are a very good organisation. I wish there was a similar institute my side of the UK!

JazakAllah khayr for the link.

6. Mu'adh - July 30, 2008

Salam alaikum

I am a holder of many fiqh books myself. I also have a fiqh us-sunnah By Syyid Sabiq. I wouldn’t recommend it because it contains many weak hadith, it gave many wrong refrences to narrators, it gives many opinion of fiqh issues but doesn’t point out the strongest view or the view that is closest to the sunnah. Shaikh Nasirudin Al-banee made many correction to the first volume of fiqh us-sunnah but he still recommended it to the students of knowledge. Unless you have a great understanding of Principles of fiqh and the science of haidth, I personally and with many other people wouldn’t recommend it. I don’t mean to talk bad on Sayyid Sabiq, who I greatly respect but at the end of the day the book is not in its most authentic form. The book “Summary of Islamic Jurisprudence” by Shaikh Al-Fawzan is a very authentic book and also “Fiqh according to Quran and Sunnah by Muhammad Subhi Hallaq translated by Sameh Strauch

7. Silenceisgolden.Ducttapeissilver - October 31, 2008

salaams
how about kanz ud daqaaiq.Its in Arabic..Might be an english trans out there iA. Or, there’s Jaami’ al Qudoori also in arabic but there is an eng version out there.
Gtg. Doing a project on Surah Kahf,saw your post and got sidetracked!!
W/s
Smile!

8. Amatullah - November 8, 2008

Fiqh made easy is a really nice, simple, and short book. I enjoyed reading it, and it’s very hard (in my opinion) to get confused reading that book.

I also believe there is a book by Dr Bilal Philips out there…


Leave a Reply

